General information for entering Hungary

Hungary joined the Schengen Area on 21 December, 2007. From that time visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States are valid also for Hungary, and visas/residence permits  issued by Hungarian authorities are - as a general rule - also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

As of December 19th  2011, 26 states are part of the Schengen Area: 22 states of the 28 members of the European Union (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) as well as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein. (For the time being 6 member states of the European Union, i.e. Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom do not issue Schengen visas.)

The Schengen regulations are only applicable for a stay not exceeding 90 days. Rules for a stay longer than 90 days are laid down by the national law of the member states concerned.

How to apply for a visa

Visa Application Forms

The Visa Application Form is available in Hungarian as well as in English and in French. Please, download and print it, then fill it in legibly, using capital letters or a typewriter and Roman characters.

Application form for a stay shorter than 3 months

Application form for a stay longer than 3 months

The previous system of the „D” type visas changed as of December 21st, 2007. The rules on the seasonal work visa have remained unchanged but in the case of other purposes of stay the applicants need a residence permit. A different application form has to be filled in for each purpose of stay. 

The application form below, entitled “Application for a visa authorising a stay longer than 3 months” can only be used for the purpose of seasonal work.

The application forms for the residence permit and other documents are available on the website of the Hungarian Immigration Office (